Being a freelancer or an office worker?

Is it effective to have a full-time job and freelance at the same time? What about a personal life and other activities. My experience

Being a freelancer or an office worker?

How I started

I started my freelance way in 2020. When the pandemic just started I had an idea to continue learning Web Development. I had some knowledge from college. We had Web Development and Design classes. It helped me and I’m so happy I had good professors in a college. The most pros of freelance are that you can get a lot of useful information which will be only a plus when you wish to find a job. For example, you can understand people that understand nothing in your major. Another plus is working in different languages. You can do projects for people from the USA, Canada, Australia, Japan, and Europe, all over the world. I did a website for a guy from Canada. He ordered a website about stanchions. If you know more pros of freelancing, let me know in the comments.

After that, I got some more orders. I have 5 completed orders at this moment. I do have not many services now as I had before got a job. My services now are creating websites using CMS like WordPress, and Shopify or using web builders such as Webflow and Squarespace. In super rare cases I can get HTML, and CSS orders.

I got a job in October and continued to do freelancing. It was not so hard. I did projects freelance in the morning & evening after my full-time job. Today I got another not order but it seems to be an order soon.

What to choose? Freelance or office?

That’s the main question. I can’t answer like you need to work in an office or to go freelance, nah. You need to try both and make a decision. What do you like more? That’s a question you need to answer. Do you prefer working with a boss with good people around you? Or maybe you prefer working alone where you are a manager, designer, and developer all rolled into one. By the way, you can mix it as I do.

Benefits of working in an office

First things first working in an office is good for people who like communication. You have a lot of smart people around you. I had 5 backend guys in a room, there are 6 computers. That means I was the only front-end guy in the room. Every guy has unique information and experience. Just think about it. The second benefit is a kitchen where every day you can find snacks, milk, water, etc. The third benefit of working in an office is table tennis. I’m not sure all companies have it. But maybe your company has a pool table. The fourth benefit is a library. In our company we can take a book from the library and take it home and read it everywhere we need to. I think it’s super cool.

office's kitchen

Benefits of working freelance

Freelance is freedom. Yes and no. Freelance means you will be alone and you can’t cancel an order without a rating impact. The first benefit is a work schedule. You can work 2 hours a day or 12 hours a day. You can wake up at 5 AM or 2 PM. You are the boss of your work. The second benefit is interesting projects. You will have customers from all over the world with different requests from pet houses to divorce calculators. I’m saying about website creation. All I can say is just do want you like.

Working freelance and at home effective?

This is the main question of this article. Is it effective? I think yes. You can earn up to 2x minimum, have good projects, and meet awesome people (sometimes not so awesome). But you will take more time just working. You will work at a full-time job and work right after it. It’s hard if you will do it every day. I’m spending 2 hours per day on a freelance and at this moment it works well. I will say later how it goes. Stay tuned!

Overall

Thank you for reading this article! What will you choose, an office or freelance? Let me know in the comments.